Heat Water Storage Pooling

 

Optimizes productivity and achieves a higher degree of flexibility by using hot water tank pooling.

 
 
 

A high proportion of electricity generated from fluctuating renewable sources requires a high degree of flexibility. Because of their storage capacity, hot water storage tanks can provide flexibility within the energy system. This is exactly where the “Heat Water Storage Pooling” project comes in: The goal is to optimize interaction between the existing heating applications and their storage systems and the volatile wind production.

To this end, a concept for an optimal management of hot water storage tanks is being developed on the basis of a flexible pooling approach and will be tested in practice. As part of the test operation in the wind region Burgenland, at least 30 individual customers and 5 multi-storey residential complexes as well as a district heating system will be connected to the control room of a wind farm operator so that the following aspects can be investigated:

  • Minimizing costs for customers and suppliers based on optimized storage operations
  • Optimizing grid operations
  • Increasing the integration potential of renewable energy by shifting to power-to-heat operations during periods of high production
  • Avoiding shutdowns of winter systems
  • Avoiding control energy and balancing energy

The project underlines the enormous potential of hot water storage tanks when used as flexibility measures: 10,000 small thermal storage units exist in the wind region of Northern Burgenland. As a central project result, there will be a multiplication-capable approach for a comprehensive pooling system of hot water storage tanks which will contribute to the continuous optimization of the energy system and support the market integration of wind energy.

Project consortium
Contact Project Management
DI Markus Puchegger
Forschung Burgenland GmbH
Campus 1
7000 Eisenstadt

T: +43 5 7705-5434 I +43 664 1616656
E: markus.puchegger@forschung-burgenland.at
W: www.forschung-burgenland.at
 
Project Partners
  • Energie Burgenland AG
  • 4ward Energy Research GmbH
  • energy & meteo systems GmbH
  • Pink GmbH

 
Key project data
Duration September 2019 to August 2022
 
Funding programme Energy research
 
Project type Co-operative R&D project
 
Project budget € 1.4 Mio.

Heat Water Storage Pooling

 

Optimierte Bewirtschaftung und höhere Flexibilität durch Warmwasserspeicher-Pooling.

 
 
 

Ein hoher Anteil von Strom, der aus fluktuierenden erneuerbaren Quellen erzeugt wird, bedingt einen hohen Flexibilitätsbedarf. Warmwasserspeicher bieten aufgrund ihrer Speicherkapazität das Potenzial, Flexibilität für das Energiesystem bereitzustellen. Genau hier setzt das Projekt „Heat Water Storage Pooling“ an: Ziel ist, die Interaktion zwischen den vorhandenen Heizungsapplikationen und deren Speichern sowie der volatilen Windproduktion zu optimieren.

Dazu wird ein Konzept für eine optimale Bewirtschaftung von Warmwasserspeichern in einem flexiblen Pooling-Ansatz entwickelt und in der Praxis erprobt. Im Rahmen des Testbetriebs in der Windregion Burgenland werden mindestens 30 Einzelkunden und fünf mehrgeschoßige Wohnanlagen sowie ein Fernwärmenetz mit der Leitwarte des Windparkbetreibers verbunden und folgende Aspekte werden untersucht:

  • Minimierung der Kosten für KundInnen und Lieferanten aufgrund des optimierten Speicherbetriebs
  • Netzbetriebsoptimierung
  • Steigerung des Integrationspotenzials für erneuerbare Energie durch Verlagerung des Power-to-Heat-Betriebs in Zeiten hoher Produktion
  • Vermeidung der Abschaltung von Winteranlagen
  • Vermeidung von Regel- und Ausgleichsenergie

Das Projekt unterstreicht das enorme Potenzial von Warmwasserspeichern als Flexibilitätsmaßnahme: Allein in der Windregion Nordburgenland sind 10.000 thermische Kleinspeicher vorhanden. Als zentrales Projektergebnis wird ein multiplikationsfähiger Ansatz zum flächendeckenden Warmwasserspeicher-Pooling vorliegen, der zur stetigen Optimierung des Energiesystems beiträgt und die Marktintegration von Windenergie unterstützt.

Projektkonsortium
Kontakt Projektleitung
DI Markus Puchegger
Forschung Burgenland GmbH
Campus 1
7000 Eisenstadt

T: +43 5 7705-5434 I +43 664 1616656
E: markus.puchegger@forschung-burgenland.at
W: www.forschung-burgenland.at
 
Projektpartner
 
Projekteckdaten
Laufzeit September 2019 – August 2022
 
Förderprogramm Energieforschung
 
Projektart Kooperatives F&E-Projekt
 
Projektbudget € 1,4 Mio.